Activation Lock Removal Guide

AppleiOS Activation Lock removal guide

Turn off Activation Lock

Learn how to turn off Activation Lock so that you can set up and use your device.

Activation Lock is designed to keep your device and your information safe in case your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch or Mac is ever lost or stolen. If you erase your device without signing out of iCloud first, it might still be protected by Activation Lock. Whether you’ve erased your own device or bought one from someone else, you can turn off Activation Lock by entering the correct Apple ID and password.

If you’ve erased your own device

If you don’t sign out of iCloud before you put your device in recovery mode and restore, it might remain in Activation Lock. That means you need to enter the same Apple ID and password that you used when you previously set up the device.

If you have iOS 11 or later and your account is protected with two-factor authentication, you can turn off Activation Lock with your device passcode. Tap Unlock with Passcode, then tap Use Device Passcode.


 

Samsung / Android

Samsung/Google Account removal/sign-out guide